top of page
  • Writer's picturedai186

Maesglase, Cribin Fawr and Waen Our (3 x Nuttalls, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia).

Updated: Oct 3, 2020

22.1.2020 - Maesglase 676m, Cribin Fawr 659m and Waen Oer 670m.

I parked in the village of Dinas Mawddy near the public toilets. I don’t have a picture of the car park but there is ample parking here and it’s free.

From the car park I headed NE out of the village on an UC road that goes over a stone bridge where you turn immediately left. I headed off on a well marked but boggy trail until I came back out on the A470.

You will see a bit of a gps glitch here but simply put you literally just cross over the road and head along a back road up Maesglase valley for about a km before leaving it on the left hand side along a wide track that traverses this beautiful imposing valley all the way along to Maesglase cliffs where you head steeply uphill. You go up and follow the cliffs around heading north until you eventually hit a fence line and then head west. Not long after I hopped over the fence to hit the unmarked summit.

Carrying on along the same fence line I headed across to Craig Portas and then turned north following another fence line all the way to the top of Cribin Fawr. All the while I am enjoying the panoramic views all around.

Here I decided I would simply do a dog leg to get Waen Oer. You simply head SW steeply downhill and then very steeply uphill. This section is very steep and going uphill I used the fence to grab hold of. It is also quite rocky. Anyway, steep as it was it didn’t take me long to get to the trig pointed summit and I returned the same way to Cribin Fawr.

From Cribin I headed north all the way along the ridgeline and down to the car park at Bwlch Oerddrws where I hitch hiked back to Dinas Mawddy.


Parking and Access: Free car park (sizeable) and toilets at the start point in Dinas Mawddwy.

Route Summary: Road, marked and unmarked trails, bit of a scramble and steep uphills and downs. Panoramic views all around. Maesglase valley is stunning.

Route Statistics: 17.5kms, 1,092m height gain done in 5hrs 42mins.

GPX files: For gpx files go to the Peakbagger website by following this link and go to the bottom right hand of the page and click ‘Download this GPS track as a GPX file.’

Ascent Entry on Peakbagger: Maesglase, Cribin Fawr and Waen Oer.


Route overview using ViewRanger and showing the car park at the end point. You can start this hike from either direction but this car park gets full very easy so get there early.

The stunning first part of the walk up Maesglase valley.

The second half of the walk and the trig point at Waen Oer.



7 views0 comments
bottom of page