top of page
  • Writer's picturedai186

Coety Mountain in the last of the winter snow, 578m, (Blaenavon, South Wales).

Updated: Oct 3, 2020

Coety Mountain 578m (Marilyn), Coity Mtn East Slope 574m (Unitary high point), Cefn Coch 571m (Dewey), Gwastad 551m (Dewey)


Well this was going to be quite a long day and that it was. My primary intention was to take in Coety Mountain which is a Marilyn but I thought then to take in the other nearby high points to make for a good day out.


On a so so weather day, overcast but no rain, I parked at Big Pit (UNESCO heritage site) where they have a small parking area specifically for walkers. In fact there is a signpost indicating that fact and it is also outside the Big Pit entrance so there is no chance of being locked in at the 5.30pm shut out time. Of course here you can also avail yourself to the toilets and cafe at the Big Pit museum (free entry).


After parking I headed south east on the road that goes around Big Pit to the south and after 400m I turned to try to follow the footpath on the map heading south west (SO239 086). You will see two parallel fences here as you head SW and the best route is in between these two fences. I was inside of these two fences and in the end had to mount a rather large gate after 500m or so. Anyway…go in between the fences. After this you start to head over open country and the footpath is rather indistinct but you continue over some boggy tufty terrain until you start to ascend towards Cefn Coch. Half way up the hill a tramway crosses your path from north to south and you pick up a path that takes you steadily up the western slope of Cefn Coch. On arriving on the ridge you are now heading north west and carry on doing so until you use your gps or map to find the high point of Cefn Coch as there is nothing really there. From the start point it is about 3km.


After Cefn Coch you basically head south east to hit a wide tramway that goes all the way to the trig point at Byrgwm some six kilometres away. You can’t miss the tramway, basically head for the two wind vanes if you have the visibility. You head steadily downhill for a km and a half and then veer off east to find the indistinct top of Coety Mountain itself. Don’t get excited as there is basically nothing here to see. The views are okay but I was just happy to be hiking hard and there was still snow on the ground. After this short eastern 500m dog leg just head back to the main pathway south.


After Coety I just kept heading south on the tramway and went past Gwastad on the western flank and kept going all the way to Byrgwm, got to the trig point and then simply turned round and headed back north. From Coety to Byrgwm is nigh on 5km. Heading back towards Gwastad this time I walked the eastern side of it so I could get the summit in (nothing there either) and I then walked downhill across tufty heather, still going north, until I got to a small col at SO230066. You will have passed this col on the way south earlier but now I headed north east and downhill to a small river crossing (10 mins) where I had a spot of lunch as it was sheltered. All this while the weather had stayed dry but it was breezy.


Anyway, I didn’t hang about for long and after lunch I continued north east uphill. I went off trail here as it looked okay but wished I hadn’t so stay on the footpath marked on the map. After getting back on the main Coety ridgeline I headed south east to arrive at the last high point of the day at Mynydd Farteg. From my lunch point to here is about 3km. The day was just about done so I picked the fastest way off Farteg…ohhh yes, that is pronounced ‘Varteg’ not the ‘Fart’ variety…anyway, I headed back along the ridge for about a km and then just headed straight downhill and NE, around a disused quarry, to a C class road. Here I followed the road through some residential streets and Big Pit itself to finish where I started. This last leg is about 4-5kms. All in all, another south wales high moorland walk. Nothing much to see but it was a good long hike so I was happy. It was also nice to trudge my way through some snow, maybe the last of the season.


Parking and Access; Specific walkers car park. Room for three vehicles and a cafe and toilet at the museum some 200m away. One of the best start locations ever!

Route Summary: High moorland hike, no exposure, tufty grass, heather, some boggy bits but generally (50%) footpaths or a wide tramway path. Views were okay but nothing to write home about. All in all, 21km with 560m of ascent done in 5hr 15m. Not fast but going off trail cost me time at a variety of locations.

GPX files: For gpx files go to the Peakbagger website by following this link and go to the bottom right hand of the page and click ‘Download this GPS track as a GPX file.’

Coety Mountain - ASCENT ENTRY


Route overview, just showing Coety and Byrgwm

Route statistics
Route overview on OS using Outdoor GPS

Elevation profile

Walkers car park just outside Big Pit museum

Big Pit world heritage site....

View of Blaenavon...nothing to write home about...

One of the two wind vanes just before Coety top...

The wide path running over the top of Coety...

My lunch spot at the col...




14 views0 comments
bottom of page