top of page
  • Writer's picturedai186

Easy day out on Mynydd Twyn Y Glas and Wentwood (north of Newport, South Wales).

Updated: Oct 3, 2020

Mynydd Twyn Y Glas 472 (Marilyn), Wentwood 243m (Marilyn) and Gray Hill 273m

Well this was a late day out to pick up a couple of Marilyns and have a little jaunt up Gray Hill. The former being Marilyns and the latter being just…well basically just a hill.


Wentwood

It was a spring day, a gorgeous one at that and I got away late and was in Wentwood forest, which is just north of Newport, at around 1pm and I knew this was not going to take long. Starting at a little cutting at OS Grid Ref: ST 414 945. I simply headed SW on forest track on flat level ground past the obvious masts and shortly after turned off due south for a 100m or so and I was there at the trig point. I turned round and came back. Even did in my sandals!


Parking and access: An UC road approach and parking at a small cutting/entrance to the forest. You can get three or four vehicles in there.

Route Summary: You could easily make this a longer route as the forest is quite nice and include a hike up nearby Gray Hill. However the quick route I did is a simple forest track/footpath. All in it was 800m there and back, 17m height gain in 11m 41s.


Mynydd Twyn Y Glas

Straight after doing Wentwood north of Newport I drove round to the Newbridge just north of Abercarn, a 40min drive. Heading up hill on a series of steep narrow UC roads I eventually got to the broad plateau top of Mynydd Twyn Y Glas. I parked at the car park at OS Grid Ref: ST 236 976.


The sun was shining and the late afternoon was calm and I knew this was only going to take me an hour. I headed north for a few hundred metres hitting an off road wide track and then simply headed east for three km’s. You keep to the trail, go past the masts, veering right past both of them until you get to the trig point, simple! You get nice views of the severn and the rest of the views are pretty much of just a broad plateau but okay. I headed back west but this time took a detour left on another trail at a river junction at OS Grid Ref: ST 251 979. I followed this trail back to the car park for a bit of variety.


Parking and access: Another UC road approach with a designated car park that can hold at least 4-5 vehicles.

Route Summary: A bit of road but mainly wide off road mast maintenance tracks. All in all 5.5km, 102m of ascent done in 57m. An easy day out.

GPX files: For gpx files go to the Peakbagger website by following this link and go to the bottom right hand of the page and click ‘Download this GPS track as a GPX file.’

Wentwood - ASCENT ENTRY.

Mynydd Twyn Y Glas - ASCENT ENTRY.


Wentwood

My actual route tracing from the Peakbagger website

There and back, 800m!

Route statistic

Nearly the easiest of the welsh Marilyns to get to...

Access car park...

Easy trail

The give away route marker!

Wentwood trig point...


Mynydd Twyn Y Glas

My actual route tracing from the Peakbagger website

The teardrop route of Mynydd Twyn Y Glas...

Route statistics
Route overview on OS using Outdoor GPS
Elevation profile

Access car park

Looking back from the masts...

The masts

Okay views...

The trig point...

16 views0 comments
bottom of page