top of page
  • Writer's picturedai186

Gau Graig on Cadair Idris (Nuttall, Snowdonia).

Updated: Oct 3, 2020

23.1.2020 - Gau Graig 683m.

Including: Mynydd Moel 863m, Cadair Idris 893m and Cyfrwy 811m (done previously).

This was the last Nuttall I had to pick up on the Cadair Idris massive but I hadn’t really plotted out a route before hand but it was a stunning winter day and so off I went.

I parked at the Ty Nant NT car park at the bottom of the Pony Path. Here I decided to head off in a long NE loop on the road. It takes you a good hour to hit Maes Goch farm where you start to go across country on marked trails to the foot of Gau Graig. I wan’t paying that much attention today so did go a field too far at one stage. The going was easy enough though and then you start to follow the wall to ascend to Gau Graig. The views are obviously beautiful on this stunning blue sky winter day with a classic inversion cloud below.

Anyway the cairned summit of Gau Graig was easily attained so onwards I went to do the classic loop of Mynydd Moel, Cadair Idris and Cyfrwy (All Nuttalls). I simply love this mountain and today I have never seen it looking so beautiful. The views were really spectacular and even though it was January people were hiking in T shirts.

After Cyfrwy I simply went down hill until I rejoined the Pony Path all the way down to the finish. A classic stunning mountain day.


Parking and Access: National park car park (pay and display) at the start point. Gets busy on the weekends but they open up an adjacent field.

Route Summary: Long road walk to begin with, marked and well maintained trails, stunning loop route taking in one of the classic plateau/ridge walks of Wales.

Route Statistics: 18.3km with 1,031m height gain in 6hrs 30mins.

GPX files: For gpx files go to the Peakbagger website by following this link and go to the bottom right hand of the page and click ‘Download this GPS track as a GPX file.’

Ascent Entry on Peakbagger: Gau Graig.


Route overview using ViewRanger.

Car park and toilets at Ty Nant car park.

Beautiful Cadair Idris.


14 views0 comments
bottom of page