top of page
  • Writer's picturedai186

Shropshire Trip. Day 2. Hike 2.

Updated: Apr 18, 2022

Heath Mynd 452m, Lydham, Shropshire (Marilyn).


Summary

I couldn’t find a close parking point to Heath Mynd so I parked in the village hall car park in Lydham where I knew there was plenty of room. I made the route up as I went along so I walked up the A488 and turned right onto a back road and carried on until I hit a Y junction. I went left and then immediately right through a gate onto a public right of way (see gpx track). Here there was a rough track that headed up towards a wind turbine (my aiming point). This was easy enough and here just beyond the turbine was a path that took me onto and up the hill and then took another wide path that then heads directly up the spine of Heath Mynd. I branched off left a bit early and went across easy heather all the way to the trig pointed summit. Not the nicest of walks but the views were okay but it was a claggy day. From here I simply retraced my steps to the start point.


Parking: Big village hall car park, free with no height restrictions.

Route: Back roads, wide tracks, good hill paths and easy heather. Nice summit views.

Route Statistics: 7.5km, 290m of height gain done in 1hr 45min.

heath-mynd-lydham-shropshire-marilyn-
.gpx
Download GPX • 12KB

Information Sheets

Photos of the day.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page