top of page
  • Writer's picturedai186

Peak & Lake District Sojourn. Day 31.

Hopegill Head Horseshoe, Lorton (3xNuttalls). Ladyside Pike 703m, Hobcarton Crag 739m and Grisedale Pike 791m.


Summary

Well this was a wet weather/bad viz plan B and bad visibility is what I had today. Saw literally nothing but picked up the three Nuttalls of Ladyside and Grisedale Pike along with Hobcarton Crag. Did four Nuttalls including Hopegill Head at 770m which I had done before. Didn’t see fanny adams but at least I got a workout and tested some new kit.

First section is on the road until you enter the fell and head South to go up the long steep tail of Swinside which takes you up to Ladyside Pike. Then it is the short but steep rocky pull up to Hopegill Head, keep to the trail when possible. There are various descriptions of this section but suffice to say I used one walking pole (I only use one) all the way to the top and didn’t have to use my hands once.

I didn’t see nothing from Hopegill Head so carried on to the small cairned summit of Hobcarton Crag and then downwards and upwards towards Grisedale Peak. I stopped short of the summit as there was a cool and comfortable stone shelter (marked on the OS). After a break I carried on to the unmarked summit of Grisedale and dropped down steeply straight away towards the long back of Hobcarton End. From there I dropped down into Whinlatter Forest where I picked up a trail which took me to a track which in turn took me onto the road and back to the start point.

All I all a very good route though, it would be a pleasure to do it in fine weather.

Parking: Free car park in forestry at start point and another one at nearby Whinlatter Forest Park on the B5292. Both sizeable.

Route: Mostly good paths be they in the forest or hill. The last 200m section up to Hopegill Head is rocky and the path is indistinct at times. Keep to the gpx track. Should be great views (been here before) but not today.

Route Statistics: A 13.3km, 760m height gain day done in 4hrs. Didn’t see anything for 3hrs 45mins!

hopegill-head-horseshoe-lorton-3xnuttall
.
Download • 20KB

Info sheets.

Ladyside Pike

Views on the way to Hopegill Head

Coming down from Hopegill Head and Hobcarton Crag cairn.

Grisedale Pike

Views towards Hobcarton End and the down route.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page